The Best Easter

I just wanted to take a moment to say Happy Easter to everyone!

I was about 3.5 yrs old here. Travis, my cousin (~4 yrs old), and I were constantly mistaken as twins when we were kids. Understandable: same bangs, right?

Some of my best childhood memories revolve around holidays, and Easter is no exception. For the past couple years, I haven’t been able to be around my family because I’m away at college. It isn’t until you’re gone that you understand the value of your family traditions. I can lie and say it gets easier, but it doesn’t. I always miss my family on holidays.

Usually holidays consisted of me, my mother, my grandparents, my aunt, and my cousins. They’re considered “immediate” family, at least in the Italian/Portuguese realm of what that concept is. It’s been this way my whole life.

After an Easter egg hunt. Socks with sandals never went out of style.

One of my favorite memories were the Easter egg hunts as a child. Travis, my older cousin, was fast at finding those eggs. I’m going to blame my slowness on my vision issues (thanks, Obama genetics). However, he would always share some eggs at the end so the baskets evened out, whether or not he wanted to.

The annual Easter photo-shoot. I was about 5 yrs old and the photographer like this photo so much that he placed it in magazine ads.

Another one of my first Easter memories was when my mother and I were living with my grandparents. I woke up the morning of Easter to discover the “Easter bunny” left a white whicker basket full of See’s chocolates on top of the baby blue dresser. My mom knew how to make Easter special. Between the baskets and egg hunts and my grandmother’s cooking, the best part was always the people.

What are your Easter traditions or favorite childhood traditions? This year, I’ll be cooking up some recipes from the Easter recipe round-up. Follow me on Instagram if you’re curious to see how they turned out!

Leave a Reply

